13.1 Miles Later

A combination of artistry and the fitness freak in me encouraged to create this video. Have a watch and share if you liked it. All monetisation (if any) will be donated to Save the Children.

The running lineup for 2015 is slightly intense, but I see it as more of a challenge.

This is how it looks so far:
• February : Brighton Half Marathon (25th Anniversary)
• March : Silverstone Half Marathon
• April : Brighton Marathon

The derivation to attempting and completing my first half marathon was quite unusual. Read on to uncover this journey. I was quite an avid gymrat for many years and I have spent a lot of time working on each segment of the body. Targeting the weak areas and sculpturing them to my aesthetic demand. I’ve come up to the point where I kind of felt lost; all the power and potential I had seemed to be purposeless. It felt like I could put my strength into good use and achieve something solid. Then on a random day in 2013, I jumped on the treadmill and the rest was just history.

Crossed the line after 2 hours 26 minutes, covered my legs with multiple icepacks. Received my medal, got a good massage, ate some well deserved good food.

A prime lesson I learnt about myself is when I spoke to some of the fellow finishers on the day. Just some causal small talk about their story and what influenced them to partake in such an event. I’m going to point out two extremes; on one end runners said that they had reached their potential and this was their Everest, they would never attempt such a challenge like this and just satisfyingly cross this off their ‘bucket list’ (and of course there is nothing wrong with that). In opposition to that I saw one guy walking around with a dozen medals around his neck. This was just one more addition to his elite collection. One could say running is part of his lifestyle.

This reminded me of a quote from an important scene in a movie called ‘The pursuit of Happyness’ (highly recommended btw, it will change your perspective of things).

“Don’t ever let someone tell you, you can’t do something. Not even me. You got a dream, you got to protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they want to tell you you can’t do it. You want something, go get it. Period.” – Will Smith

People will always talk from their perspective, if they had succeeded at something they would influence you to do it; and conversely if they had failed at something they would in a way detain you from attempting it in the fear that you might fail too. Trying to save you from disappointment, but in actual fact stopping you from having your own attempt at it.

From my perspective, this first experience wasn’t too taxing for me and I believed that I had more potential in me and I could do go faster and further in the future.

My successes are my own successes; and my failures are my own failures. It is only distinctive to me, it would be unfair for me tell someone not to attempt something just because I failed at it. Each to their own. Different lives, different stories. Therefore when you look at a situation, whether it’s educational, physical, romantic or whatever; think about your own potential and decide whether you can do it!

Don’t be limited by other people’s perspectives.

Impossible is subjective.

Props to my cousin who captured the day! <3

Leave a Reply

